Follow by Email

Sunday, March 11, 2012

Councillors sworn in at Ampang Jaya, Sepang

Councillors sworn in at Ampang Jaya, Sepang

IT was his first day at work and first-time councillor Fong Teck Keong from Kampung Baru Ampang was already getting complaints over the telephone from residents.

Datuk Mohamad Yacob (seated, fourth from left) with the MPAJ councillors after the swearing-in ceremony yesterday. Pic by Rosela Ismail
   Fong, who might be taking over Zone 8 from former councillor Tan Hua Meng, said he had received calls from market traders urging that piles of rubbish there to be cleared immediately.

    "I  received at least four calls earlier and expect more later. This is expected as I was the village  committee deputy chairman when Tan was the chairman.

"I have  informed the council about the problem and expect the garbage to be cleared soon.

"Even a day's delay in garbage  collection at the market will cause the rubbish to pile up.

    "There aren't many issues in my area except for garbage problems and traffic congestion at Bandar Baru Ampang.

"Other minor problems  such as faulty streetlights which can be rectified within a short time," said Fong, who is also the Parent-Teacher Association chairman for SJK(C) Kampung Baru Ampang.

    "We are proposing that Jalan 5 near the school be converted to one way as a solution to the congestion in the area. I will also forward the proposal to the council.

"I will have to juggle between my responsibilities in the PTA and as a councillor, but I am prepared as I was in the residents' committee.

"I have to work harder after this," said Fong, who was among the 21 councillors sworn-in at the Ampang Jaya Municipal Council headquarters, including council president Datuk Mohamad Yacob yesterday morning.      

    The others are Razali Ramly (PKR), Jafrien Muhammad (PKR), Abdul Latif Shaari (PKR), Hamsah Djabir (PKR), Sian Keng Eng (DAP), Wong Khai Pun (DAP), Cheong Chye Wah (DAP), Abdul Jalil Hasan (PAS), Meor Rithuan  Mohamed Said (PAS), Wan Hasrina Wan Hassan (PAS), Ali Ismail (PAS), Mat Jusoh Dollah (PAS), Yazid Alias (PAS), Abdul Aziz Ahmad (NGO), S. Supiramany (NGO), and Mohamad Samat (NGO).

   Second-term councillor Mohamad Samat, who is serving Zone 23, said he felt a bigger sense of responsibility.

   "I have been working on the guarded-and-gated community issue which we have been discussing with residents. So far, only Taman Melor have adopted the concept," he said.

    Mohamad said the four vacant spots for councillors are expected to be filled by end of the month.

    "The new councillors will probably be sworn-in during our monthly full board meeting at the month. We have yet to receive the names from the state government," he said.

    On a different matter, Mohamad said council staff and contractors are helping to clean up houses affected by Wednesday's downpour.

    "As part of their agreement, cleaning contractors in the Lembah Jaya area need to give assistance after a natural disaster, particularly to clear the mud and debris from damaged items, in this case at some 200 affected houses.

"We are providing   20 lorries for this," he said.

   Over at Sepang,  seven councillors of the Sepang Municipal Council (MPSp) have been dropped from the new 2012-2013 list of new councillors.

      Nineteen of the 24 councillors and the president  of MPSp were sworn in at a ceremony held at the Sepang Municipal Council's Bilik Semarak yesterday .

     While two vacancies have yet to be filled, three councillors were absent from the ceremony. Tengku Datuk Dr Jamaluddin Tengku Mahmud Shah had palace duties to attend to and Mohamad Makki Ahmad and  Mashadi Saien  were both ill and could not attend.   

     The three councillors would  be sworn in at the next full board meeting if they could attend it, said council president Mohd Sayuthi Bakar.

      Most of the new appointees are from PKR. The new faces in the council present at the ceremony included Baharudin Misran (PKR), Samion Berau (PKR), Suziana Musa (PKR), Rosmah Abd Rashid (PKR), Tan Chee Kiat (PKR)  and  Norazmi Saonan (NGO).

       Three councillors fall under the NGO category. Of these the newcomer is Norazmi.

Norazmi  who will be in charge of Sri Dengkil said that the cleanliness of the area had to be improved.

    "I want to work together with the residents to tackle the dengue menace, improve the parks and recreational areas as well as the general cleanliness in my zone," Norazmi said after the swearing-in ceremony. 

   Another new face, Baharudin Misran of PKR said he would meet the various bodies representing the people in his area and departments in the MPSp to ascertain what needed to be done.

     New councillor Samion Berau of PKR said he was concerned about the decline of morality and spirituality among the young and hoped to adopt a two-pronged approach to solving the problem.

    "Firstly, I am going to get professional counsellors to give counselling sessions and talks to troubled youths.

"Secondly, Islamic religious classes will also be organised in various places," he said.

  The other first-term councillors are Lim Fong Len (DAP) from Taman Mega Jaya, Ahmad Fauzi Mohd Kamis (PKR) from Kg Pandan Dalam, and Ahmad Sabri Abu Bakar (PKR) from Bukit Antarabangsa.

Read more: Councillors sworn in at Ampang Jaya, Sepang - Central - New Straits Times

No comments:

Post a Comment